MENU

Cluster: Western Europe

Since the start of BOLD MOVE one year ago, we all belong to OBS System Certification. Together with our colleagues in China, India, America, Asia and many other countries, we now work on an increasingly international basis. Yet which areas does OBS System Certification actually cover and who works where? In order to give you an overview, we would like to introduce some of the specific clusters here in this and forthcoming editions, in our “BOLD MOVE” section. This time around, we are looking at the cluster "Western Europe" with Paul van Enckevort at the helm.

Paul van Enckevort

Paul van Enckevort is relatively new to TÜV NORD: He started in August 2017 as Senior Vice President of the Cluster Western Europe. He is 49 years old and lives in a small village near Venlo, close to the German border. But he is currently building a new house together with good friends and his so called “god children”. In his free time he likes to play golf, read a good book and take city trips around the world.

Paul van Enckevort

Mr. van Enckevort, once again welcome to TÜV NORD! Could you describe your previous professional background in a few words?

I did an MSc in Technical Physics at the Technical University of Eindhoven. I specialized in Flow Dynamics. After my studies I did several training courses in the field of management, marketing & sales, project management, SCRUM and innovation management. I used to work during my 21 year career in the TIC market at a Dutch company called NMi, where I focused on worldwide product and system certification for measuring instruments. And now I’m looking forward to new challenges at TÜV NORD.

You are responsible for the Cluster Western Europe now – where are your headquarters and where are the other offices?

Our headquarters are at TÜV Netherlands in Best. But we have offices in the London area (East Croyden) (UK), Antwerp & Namen (Belgium), Lille (France), Madrid & Barcelona (Spain) and Bologna & Milan (Italy). And of course I am very often in Essen (TN Cert headquarters) and occasionally in Hamburg (International Sales & Project management).

How many people work in your cluster?

In total there are about 90 employees, but with the external auditors we have a capacity of about 200 auditors and we issue around 6000 Certificates on a yearly basis with a total turnover of about 14.5 Million Euro. All national work is done by my local staff and PC heads, so I find it very important that I mention them and the core of the Western Europe team here:

  • Italy: Mr. Stefano Porelli
  • Spain: Mr. Jose Ramon Martinez Caceres
  • UK: Mrs. Tanya Kuchukova
  • France: Mr. Philippe Bohm
  • Belgium: Mr. Guy Buysse

Let’s look at your local activities: What’s your regional footprint and which regions do you service?

The Cluster Western Europe consists of all certifications activities in The Netherlands, UK, Belgium, Spain, France and Italy. The “classic certifications” are selling particularly well, such as ISO 9001, 14001, OHSAS 18001, followed by new standards like 27001, Wood FSC. But several regional/national standards can also be applicable like VCA, Safety Ladder, Asbest and NEN 7510 (Netherlands), Carbon, Esos (UK), Agencia Española Protecion de Datos (Spain). Within Western Europe we are in a very competitive, saturated market where we strongly focus on local small and medium sized companies. Our local knowledge, flexibility and also our knowledge of the different market segments give us big advantages in terms of clients focus and understanding the clients’ business needs.

What are the main challenges for you?

Within Western Europe we have three main challenges and opportunities:

  • Keep up with the growing competition in a saturated market in terms of sales (focus and capacity), efficiencies and flexibility
  • Growth in the smaller countries (0.5 to 1 Million Euro/year) with support of TN Cert, creating a bigger and more stable market position
  • Focus on the upcoming demands in a digitalized world. The Safety4Security projects are thus very important for us, and for example the 27001 and 7510 in combination with European GDPR legislation potentially offer opportunities for strong growth in the coming years.

And the last question: From your point of view – What are the most important changes since the beginning of BOLD MOVE?

In my short time at TÜV I have noticed three issues in particular:

  • More focus on and support from TN Cert for the local subsidiaries in terms of attention, product development, sharing information on market demands and developments
  • Joint projects for internationally focused clients within an international project approach. This is still a learning process within Bold Move, but we see a growing demand from clients here, where we have to fine-tune the internal organization on expectations and joint cooperation (process and project flow)
  • The tendency towards centralized development of new services and innovation which support the local subsidiaries and therefore not depend on sometimes small companies with lack of capacity to further development.

Thank you very much for the interview.

MENU

Cluster: Western Europe

Seit dem Start von BOLD MOVE vor einem Jahr gehört der größte Teil der TÜV NORD CERT zum OBS Systemzertifizierung. Zusammen mit Kollegen aus China, Indien, Amerika, Asien und vielen weiteren Ländern arbeiten wir nun verstärkt international. Doch welche Bereiche umfasst das OBS Systemzertifizierung eigentlich und wer arbeitet wo? Um einen kleinen Überblick zu schaffen, stellen wir unter der Rubrik „BOLD MOVE“ in jeder Ausgabe ein Cluster vor. Diesmal: Paul van Enckevort mit dem Cluster „Western Europe“.

Paul van Enckevort

Paul van Enckevort ist noch nicht lange bei TÜV NORD: Er begann im August 2017 als Clusterleiter “Western Europe”. Der 49-jährige lebt in einem kleinen Dorf nahe der deutschen Grenze und baut aktuell ein Haus mit guten Freunden und seinen Patenkindern. In seiner Freizeit spielt er Golf, liest gern gute Bücher und reist um die Welt.

Paul van Enckevort

Paul van Enckevort, nochmals herzlich willkommen bei TÜV NORD! Würden Sie uns kurz Ihren bisherigen Werdegang schildern?

Ich habe an der Technischen Universität Eindhoven meinen Master of Science in Technical Physics gemacht. Nach meinem Studium absolvierte ich mehrere Trainings in den Bereichen Management, Marketing & Sales, Projektmanagement, Scrum und Innovationsmanagement. Anschließend arbeitete ich 21 Jahre lang im TIC-Markt der holländischen Firma NMi, wo ich mich auf weltweite Produkte und Systemzertifizierung für Messgeräte konzentrierte. Und nun freue ich mich auf die neuen Herausforderungen bei TÜV NORD!

Sie sind für das Cluster Westeuropa verantwortlich – wo ist Ihr Hauptsitz und welche Regionen betreuen Sie noch?

Mein Hauptsitz bei TÜV Nederland ist in Best. Meine weiteren Büros sind in London (East Croyden, Großbritannien), Antwerpen & Namen (Belgien), Lille (Frankreich), Madrid & Barcelona (Spanien) und Bologna & Mailand (Italien). Und natürlich bin ich sehr oft bei TÜV NORD CERT in Essen und gelegentlich in Hamburg (International Sales & Project Management).

Wie viele Personen arbeiten in Ihrem Cluster?

Insgesamt sind wir etwa 90 Angestellte, aber einschließlich der externen Auditoren verfügen wir über eine Kapazität von circa 200 Auditoren. Wir stellen jährlich rund 6000 Zertifikate mit einem Gesamtumsatz von etwa 14,5 Millionen Euro aus. Alle nationalen Arbeiten werden von meinen lokalen Mitarbeitern und PC-Leitern ausgeführt, daher finde ich es sehr wichtig, sie ebenso zu erwähnen, wie den Kern des Westeuropa-Teams:

  • Italien: Herr Stefano Porelli
  • Spanien: Herr Jose Ramon Martinez Caceres
  • Die Niederlande: Herr Gijs Spiele
  • Großbritannien: Frau Tanya Kuchukova
  • Frankreich: Herr Philippe Böhm
  • Belgien: Herr Guy Buysse

Welche Regionen umfasst Ihr Cluster? und welche Produkte verkaufen sich besonders gut?

Mein Cluster Westeuropa umfasst Zertifizierungsaktivitäten in den Niederlanden, Großbritannien, Belgien, Spanien, Frankreich und Italien. Besonders erfolgreich sind die "klassischen Zertifizierungen" wie ISO 9001, 14001 und OHSAS 18001, gefolgt von neuen Standards wie 27001, Wood FSC. Aber auch verschiedene regionale und nationale Standards kommen zum Tragen, wie VCA, Safety Ladder, Asbest und NEN 7510 (Niederlande), Carbon, Esos (Großbritannien) oder Agencia Española Protecion de Datos (Spanien). Innerhalb Westeuropas befinden wir uns in einem stark konkurrierenden, gesättigten Markt, in dem wir uns stark auf lokale kleine und mittlere Unternehmen konzentrieren. Unser lokales Wissen, unsere Flexibilität und unser Wissen über die verschiedenen Marktsegmente bieten uns starke Vorteile in Bezug auf die Kundenorientierung und das Verständnis für die Geschäftsanforderungen unserer Kunden.

Was sind die größten Herausforderungen für Sie?

In Westeuropa haben wir drei große Herausforderungen und Chancen:

  • Schritt zu halten mit dem zunehmenden Wettbewerb in einem gesättigten Markt in Bezug auf Umsatz (Fokus und Kapazität), Effizienz und Flexibilität
  • Wachstum in den kleineren Ländern (0,5 bis 1 Million Euro pro Jahr) mit Unterstützung der TÜV NORD CERT, wodurch eine größere und stabilere Marktposition geschaffen wird
  • Konzentration auf die anstehenden Anforderungen in einer Digitalisierungswelt. Die Security4Safety-Projekte sind für uns sehr wichtig. Auch können die 27001 und 7510 in Verbindung mit der europäischen Datenschutzverordnung eine starke Wachstumschance in den nächsten Jahren darstellen. 

Kommen wir zur letzten Frage: Was sind aus Ihrer Sicht die wichtigsten Veränderungen seit dem Beginn von BOLD MOVE?

Was ich in meiner kurzen Zeit bei TÜV NORD festgestellt habe, sind im Wesentlichen drei Themen:

  • Die lokalen Tochtergesellschaften erhalten mehr Unterstützung von TÜV NORD CERT in Hinblick auf Aufmerksamkeit und Produktentwicklung, sowie mehr Informationen über Marktanforderungen und Entwicklungen.
  • Gemeinsame Projekte für international ausgerichtete Kunden in einem internationalen Projektansatz. Dies ist immer noch ein Lernprozess innerhalb von BOLD MOVE. Aber wir sehen hier eine wachsende Nachfrage von Kunden, so dass wir die interne Organisation auf die Erwartungen abstimmen und die Zusammenarbeit (Prozess- und Projektfluss) weiter ausbauen müssen.
  • Die Tendenz zu einer zentralen Entwicklung neuer Dienstleistungen und Innovationen. Dies unterstützt lokale Tochtergesellschaften, die selbst über keine ausreichenden Ressourcen für diese Prozesse verfügen.

Vielen Dank für das Gespräch!