Certification according to SCC – Safety Certificate Contractors

Preventing accidents and property damage

More and more contractors for technical and industrial services are being used on industrial estates and in large factories. TÜV NORD CERT offers these contractors voluntary certification according to the SCC rules (Safety Certificate Contractors) as proof of their compliance with essential health and safety requirements. The certification focuses on their management of health, safety and environmental protection (HSE), serving as a guarantee for customers that the basic standards are met. The certificate has now become an indispensable prerequisite for winning both national and international tenders.

Three types of SCC certification

There are three versions of the SCC certification:

  • SCC*: limited certificate for small enterprises with up to 35 employees which do not use sub-contractors for technical services
    • Assessment of HSE management activities directly at the workplace
    • Prerequisite: positive response to 27 marked mandatory questions in the SCC checklist
  • SCC**: unlimited certificate for organisations with more than 35 employees and also organisations with less than 35 employees which use sub-contractors for technical services
    • Assessment of HSE management activities directly at the workplace and of HSE management within the organisation
    • Prerequisite: positive response to 40 marked mandatory questions in the SCC checklist and positive response to at least 5 out of the possible 9 additional questions
  • SCCP: unlimited certificate for organisations deploying their employees in the petrochemical industry
    • Prerequisite: positive response to the 44 marked mandatory questions in the SCC checklist and positive response to at least 3 out of the possible 5 additional questions

The SCC checklist

In the course of the certification a representative number of projects in the sense of on-site activities of the contractor at their customers’ premises are evaluated. The construction sites, workplaces or production areas selected for the audit should represent projects which are typical for the contractor. They are assessed according to the SCC checklist.

The SCC checklist contains all relevant criteria for the audit and for the ultimate certification decision. It consists of the following 12 chapters: 

Chapter 1: HSE: Policy, organisation and management commitment
Chapter 2: HSE Risk assessment
Chapter 3: HSE Training, information and instruction
Chapter 4: HSE Awareness
Chapter 5: HSE Project plan
Chapter 6: Protection of the environment
Chapter 7: Contingency plan
Chapter 8: HSE Inspections
Chapter 9: Occupational healthcare
Chapter 10: Procurement and inspection of machinery, equipment, working material and substances Chapter 11: Procurement of services
Chapter 12: Reporting, registration and investigation of accidents, near misses and unsafe situations

The relevant SCC rules can be found on the website of the German Society for Petroleum and Coal Science and Technology (DGMK), where you will also find notes and interpretations provided by the DGMK working group and an excerpt from the SCC checklist.

Meeting the requirements

The following requirements have to be met in order to obtain certification:

  • The health, safety and environmental management system must have been in operation for at least 3 months
  • The response to the mandatory questions marked with an asterisk in the SCC checklist and, depending on the kind of certification, a specified number of additional questions has to be positive
  • Staff and executives have to undergo standardised training and successfully complete an HSE exam
  • The frequency of accidents has to be determined and compared with the threshold values required for certification

Staff qualification

An essential requirement for SCC certification concerns the qualification of the staff and executives. According to the rules, all employees in the SCC-certified area must have proof of a successfully completed HSE exam, which in the case of operative executives is specifically tailored to the individual executive function. The content and criteria of the certification exams are binding and have been defined and laid down in a requirements document by the DGMK. 

Determining the frequency of accidents

Since the SCC rules stipulate clear threshold values, the accident statistics are subject to particular scrutiny. For initial certification, the accident frequency rate (AFR) must not exceed 40 and for re-certification the initial value must be reduced by 20 % over the course of the 3 following years. The objective behind this is to reduce the number of accidents over the long term. 

The benefits

SCC certification comes with many benefits:

  • Your entry ticket to the market
  • Increased competitiveness
  • Enhanced image
  • Optimised management processes and more efficient workflow
  • Qualified training of staff and executives with improved safety awareness
  • Reduction of the financial burden caused by sick leave and accidents
  • Better legal certainty as to compliance with statutory requirements

Possible combinations

SCC certification can be obtained separately, but also in combination with other certifications such as DIN EN ISO 9001 (quality management) and DIN EN ISO 14001 (environmental management). We will be happy to provide more information.

Learn all about it. We will be at your side.