MENU
  1. Certification
  2. Services
  3. BRC Global Food Standard

Broad impact

The BRC Global Food Standard is now being applied in Version 7 and is very widespread, with around 14,000 certificates in over 100 countries.

Certification to BRC involves application of the principles of Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP) and Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP). Processes and technologies employed in the manufacture of products and/or packaging are analysed, as is compliance with statutory specifications concerning equipment and premises, product and performance and personnel qualifications. Risks are classified and the quality management system examined to ensure a uniform quality level and to document a high sense of responsibility – a sound basis for sustained image enhancement in the outside world and within the organisation.

The standard can be applied to all foodstuff processing stages. These can range from animal slaughter and packaging of fresh food through to all further processing stages. Special reference documents are applicable to some sectors.

Gluten-free certification with the BRC Voluntary Module:

BRC Voluntary Module 12 AOECS

The BRC Global Standard has developed a number of additional modules. These can be used in addition to the BRC Global Standard for Food Safety audit. These modules are known as AVM which stands for Additional Voluntary Modules. Thus, the BRC Global Standards published the voluntary additional module 12 AOECS on 12 September 2016. AOECS stands for the Association of European Coeliac Societies, which provides a standard for gluten-free foods. For all manufacturers of gluten-free products with an existing BRC certification, we offer the AVM 12 as a supplementary test to your regular BRC auditing.

Your Advantages:

With the AVM 12 you can prove that your products are gluten-free within the framework of the BRC Global Standards. This, for example, also facilitates market access to the ASDA trading group, which demands the BRC AVM 12 for its suppliers of gluten-free products. Together with the BRC Global Standard for Food Safety you can also save costs and effort.

How does it work?

 

You can contact us for more information, if your organisation wishes to adopt the AVM 12 AOECS. We will discuss everything else in further detail. The BRC Global Standard and all additional module requirements are tested together. The additional time required for the on-site audit is usually 2 hours. During the audit, deviations can be detected for both the BRC Global Standard and the additional module. However, deviations from the requirements of the additional module are NOT included in the assessment of the classification for the main BRC Global Standard audit. Having said this, module-related non-conformities must be corrected and appropriate evidence provided along with evidence of non-compliance based on the BRC Global Standard for Food Safety. There is no detailed classification for the additional module, only the result "pass" or "fail". Moreover, if the result of the audit is positive, you will receive a separate certificate for the AVM 12. However, the module is not recognised by the German Coeliac Society.

For manufacturers that do not have BRC certification, we also offer the Gluten Free Program for North America, which you can read about here.

 

 

International Sales Contact by Country

TUV NORD UK

Mrs. Asha Gautum
agautam@tuv-nord.com

Tel.: +44(0)20 86807711

TUV NORD Mexico

Mrs. Christina Paramo

cparamo@tuv-nord.com

Tel.:+52 442 199-5135

TÜV NORD Poland

Mr. Waldemar Pęzioł 
w.peziol@tuv-nord.pl

Tel.: +48 (0)32 786 46 46

TÜV NORD Poland

Mrs. Monika Wiśniewska-Stefaniuk
m.stefaniuk@tuv-nord.pl

Tel.:+48 (0)32 786 46 46


TÜV NORD Italy

Mrs. Elisabetta Szulin
e.szulin@tuev-nord.it

Tel: +39 (0)331541488 

TÜV NORD Czech

Mrs. Kralova Lenka
kralova@tuev-nord.cz

Tel.: +420 296587223

TÜV NORD Croatia

Mrs. Vološčuk Andrea
avoloscuk@tuv-croatia.hr

Tel.: +385 35 400591 202

TÜV NORD Bulgaria

Mr. Lazarov Trayan
tlazarov@tuv-nord.com

Tel.: +359 2 9713445


TUV HELLAS

Mrs. Dimomeleti Danai
ddimomeleti@tuv-nord.com

Tel.:+30 215 215 7461

TÜV NORD Integra

Mrs. Christine Franck
cfranck@tuv-nord.com 

Tel.:+32 3 287 37 60

TÜV NORD Egypt

Mr. Ramy Marei 
rmarei@tuv-nord.com 

Tel.:+20 2 330 51948

TÜV NORD Turkey

Mr. Yücel Erdem 

yerdem@tuv-nord.com 

Tel.:+90 212 293 2642


TUV Cyprus

Mrs. Ero Demosthenous

erdemosthenous@tuv-nord.com

Tel.:+357 22 442840

TÜV NORD Argentina

Mr. Nicolas Franke 

nfranke@tuv-nord.com

Tel.:+54 11 53655565

TÜV NORD USA

Mr. Scrott Grossman

sgrossman@tuv-nord.com

Tel.:+1 603 870 8023

TÜV NORD Brazil

Mrs. Noemi Mafra

nmafra@tuv-nord.com 

Tel.:+55 1146899400


5